Fauquier County Public Library

e-Resource News: What to Read Next…

Posted by alison on

Woman reading on beachNeed a literary respite from the hot, humid weather? Whether you’re looking for a light beach read or titles/genres to help you complete your Read for the Win game card, the library’s Reading & Books web page has a wealth of tools and resources available to help you find a great book. 

New & Notable

Be sure to sign up for the Wowbrary newsletter to receive a weekly e-mail highlighting the library’s most recent additions of print/audio books, e-books and DVDs. Early notifications (they arrive in your inbox every Saturday) from Wowbrary allow you to reserve bestsellers instantly as well as read the latest reviews on Goodreads. You can also check out our list of all items added to the collection in the past month. The library’s site also provides Best Seller lists that include a link to items in our catalog, so you can quickly place holds for items of interest.

What Do Other Readers Recommend?

We all know “eat local” is the rage. How about “read local?” While sites like Goodreads and Amazon are great for gauging what folks across the country are reading, curated lists and reviews from library staff (adults, teens and children) and selections from our book clubs are a great way to get a taste of our local reading flavor.

Series Fanatics

Not sure where you left off in a particular mystery series? Library reference staff often consult sites such as Fantastic Fiction to look up an author and get series information (some authors, like Nora Roberts, have multiple series). Then, you can do a series title search in the library’s catalog to confirm whether or not the library has the book you need.

  • Tip: After you’ve searched for a series title (ex. “inspector rebus”), click/tap the Extended Display button to get the individual titles:

series_extend

 

series_afterextended

Um, sure, I read ‘War & Peace…’

If you never got around to reading all of the classics or “best books,” and have a hot date with a book nerd/English major, take a look at Bloom’s Literary Reference Online, where you can explore authors, literary topics and themes that have resonated through time.

Well, I’m off to pick up my holds and pack my beach bag with some great library books. I hope the above tools will help you discover your next favorite read!

~ Alison, Electronic Resources Librarian, Fauquier County Public Library

To keep up-to-date on library news and events, subscribe to bookmarksour monthly eNewsletter, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Comments are closed.