Fauquier County Public Library

Reading Riot: Sci-Fi Read Alikes for The 5th Wave

Posted by annmcd on

Sci-fi movie fans will be glad to know that the alien-invasion thriller The 5th Wave opened in theaters last weekend. Based on Rick Yancey’s bestselling book, near-future earth has been laid to waste by a series of devastating extraterrestrial attacks. Cassie is determined to rescue her younger brother from the enemy with help from a boy who may be one of them before the next wave of destruction is unleashed.

5th wave

The story continues in The Infinite Sea in which the survivors must brace for winter or set out in search for others before the enemy closes in. The final book in the trilogy, The Last Star, is scheduled for release in May.

You’ll want to put the whole series on hold. In the meantime, try these sci-fi novels that provide high-octane action.

Illuminae by Amy Kaufman

Until today, Kady’s worst problem had been breaking up with Ezra. Then her planet was invaded. It’s the year 2575, and Kady and Ezra find themselves evacuating with the space fleet, fleeing an enemy warship. But that’s the least of their troubles. The AI on board, which is programmed to protect, turns against them and shoots down their partner ship. Meanwhile, a deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, turning everyone exposed into psychopathic killers.

Told through a fascinating series of hacked documents, classified military files, interviews, intercepted personal messages, schematics and more this is a fast-paced story of interstellar action. Unexpected twists will keep you wondering and there’s just enough snarky humor to lighten the tense drama as civilians and soldiers fight to survive. The audio includes vivid sound effects which add to the dramatic experience.islands at end of world

The Islands at the End of the World by Austin Aslan

Stranded in Honolulu when a strange cloud causes a worldwide electronics failure, 16-year-old Leilani and her father must make their way home to Hilo amid escalating perils, including her severe epilepsy. This brutal eco-thriller reveals humanity’s savage side as people fight to survive and defend themselves. The violence is softened by spiritual references and the author’s knowledge of Hawaiian biology, geography, history and traditions shines through.

We are the Ants by Shaun Hutchinson

Here is a complex new novel about a teenage boy who must decide whether or not the world is worth saving. Henry Denton has spent years being periodically abducted by aliens. Then the aliens give him an ultimatum: The world will end in 144 days, and all Henry has to do to stop it is push a big red button. Only he isn’t sure he wants to. After all, life hasn’t been great for Henry. Bullied at school, living in an unhappy home and reeling from his boyfriend’s suicide, Henry must decide if wiping the slate clean is better than saving humanity.

Zeroes by Scott Westerfield

Six California teens all discover that they possess unique supernatural powers. Calling themselves the Zeroes, they train as a crime-fighting unit. Told from multiple POVs, this first in a series has quirky characters, fast action and a message about friendship.

Add these riveting books to your reading list today!

∼ Ann McDuffie, Youth Services Librarian, Bealeton branch library

Want to stay informed about books, websites and events for teens and young adult readers? Check out more from Reading Riot.

Comments are closed.