Fauquier County Public Library

Reading Riot: Hot New YA Reads

Posted by librarystaff on

The cold is setting in… stay warm with these hot new titles for young adult readers.

Light years by Emily Ziff Griffin
As a mysterious virus infects the world’s population, Luisa embarks on a quest to find a cure in this intense debut novel. Her extraordinary coding skills have landed her a fellowship but Lu’s life is thrust into chaos as a deadly virus sweeps across the globe, killing thousands. When she receives a cryptic message from someone who might hold the key to stopping the epidemic, she knows she must do something to save her family–and the world.  Fans of the “Maze Runner” and “Virals” series will enjoy this gripping survival story.

Renegades by Marissa MeyerRenegades book cover 12/16/17
Secret Identities. Extraordinary Powers. She wants vengeance. He wants justice. From #1 New York Times-bestselling author Marissa Meyer, comes a high-stakes world of adventure, passion, danger, and betrayal. 

The Renegades are human, but with extraordinary abilities. They emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone… except the villains they once overthrew. Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and is on a mission for vengeance. Adrian is a Renegade boy who believes in justice– and in Nova. But Nova’s allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both. — Adapted from book jacket.

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F.C. Yee
The struggle to get into a top-tier college consumes 16-year-old Genie’s every waking thought. But her focus is destroyed when she discovers she’s a celestial spirit and a new student helps her transform into a demon-fighter. Now that she’s powerful enough to bash through the gates of heaven with her fists, her perfectionist existence is shattered and her sleepy Bay Area suburb comes under siege from hell-spawn. Funny dialog and surprising plot twists make this a fun read.

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird and friendless. Online, she’s Lady Constellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one and she has no desire to try. But when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble. Here’s a story about art, fandom and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. “Eliza and Her Monsters” is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s “Fangirl.”

∼ Ann McDuffie, Youth Services Librarian, Bealeton branch library

Want to stay informed about books, websites and events for teens and young adult readers? Check out more from Reading Riot.

Comments are closed.